Skip site navigation and jump to page content

Prom 42: Sibelius - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4

Sunday 16 August 2015 - 7:30 PM

Julian Rachlin © Janine Guldener

Approximate end time: 10:15pm

Presented by:

Symphony No. 3 in C major 30'

Violin Concerto in D minor 35'


Michael Finnissy
Janne c15'
BBC commission: world premiere

Symphony No. 4 in A minor 38'

Julian Rachlin violin

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov

The Proms' Sibelius symphony cycle continues with the concise, intricately wrought Third and the darker Fourth – once described by conductor Herbert Blomstedt as 'an essay in trying to be happy which fails – on purpose'.  These are paired with the composer's popular Violin Concerto with Lithuanian soloist Julian Rachlin.

Conductor Ilan Volkov is a passionate champion of contemporary music and here premieres a new Sibelius-inspired work by Michael Finnissy – a composer whose music, though fascinatingly complex, finds real connection with politics, society and culture.

To Buy Tickets

What's this?
Add to my Proms Plan

Log In to receive information, pricing, or promotions which may be available to you.